No Machine Coconut Burfi Icecream

This creamy and crunchy combination featuring the well known and much loved Coconut Burfi in the form of home made creamy no machine ice cream is the best way to beat the heat this summer!

wp-1461338017700.jpg

Lets just say, ice creams are my weakness! I can have them anytime, throughout the year, even if it means a sore throat the next day, this is how much I love ice creams!Β  I’m sure you can imagine how much I would be craving ice creams these summer months. So I go to a store and look up the flavors, but I think, ” Naah these are really common ones, I want something new ! ” So I reach a gourmet store, pick up the ice creams, make a face, and leave! “Why?!”, you may wonder, because those ice creams will not easily go down the throat of someone who is a student like me! Those were sooo pricey!

The problem with these ice creams is the heavy cost you have to pay to enjoy the flavors! They sure do burn a hole in your pockets! And why pay to enjoy?! Its your right to enjoy after all! With these thoughts in my mind and while scrolling through my fellow food bloggers’ pages ( which is something I love to do) , I came across this recipe for Coconut Burfi Ice cream at Rose’s blog” Nish Kitchen Nish Kitchen ” I knew this was for me! I knew this ice cream would never leave me and be my love forever! And yes, its working out between us! ( We might get married this May maybe…) Yes! This is how much I love it!

Anyways, so enough with the talking, here’s the recipe to this delicious summer treat! PS: I will be doing no machine ice creams all this summer, so leave me comments on which flavor you would like to see next! And for all those diabetics out there, sugar free ice cream can be made at home too!

Ingredients :

Heavy whipping cream – 500 gms ( I made a whole lot of it, you may reduce the amount )

Desiccated coconut – 2 cups

Cardamom powder – 2 tsp

Sweetened Condensed milk -400 gms

Coconut cream – 1/2 cup

Sugar ( Optional – If you feel that is isnt sweet enough )

Chopped Pistachios for garnishing ( optional )

Directions :

Add the desiccated coconut and cardamom powder to a non stick pan and toast on low heat for about 2 1/2 – 3 minutes stirring continuously or until the coconut changes colour. It may burn easily, so you need to keep an eye on it all the time and also keep stirring after removing from heat, because the pan will still be hot. Once its done it should look something like this.

wp-1461380509844.jpg
On first adding it to the pan
wp-1461380661173.jpg
After it is done

2. ( Preparing the base ) Whip up the heavy cream until it forms stiff peaks. The should have almost doubled in amount in comparison to what you started with. Add this to a bowl.

wp-1461380851132.jpg

Add the condensed milk, coconut cream and sugar ( optional ) and gently fold it all in. Now add the coconut ( reserve some for garnishing ) and mix again.

wp-1461381445585.jpg

3. Cover with a cling wrap and put into a freezer. I let it sit overnight, but anywhere between 6 to 8 hours would be just fine!

wp-1461382442798.jpg

4. Scoop out some of this deliciousnes, garnish with the leftover coconut and pistachios and serve!

I love hearing from my readers! Leave your feedbacks or questions in the comments below! Happy Cooking! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “No Machine Coconut Burfi Icecream”

Leave a Reply

